Something new and fun

img_0727

One thing many of you may not know about me is that I hate technology. Not just a bit but really honestly some days i would rather not have anything to do with it. And yet you see me writing on WordPress and making blog articles. It has taken me a long time to be comfortable with it and finally discover how to write, get photos to go with my articles and try and write more than once a week.

Much of my time is spent on Facebook and I have a lot of international friends through using it. Some of them I chat to almost every day – others are once a week or once every so often. I have discovered my friends through different groups, forming friendships or just seeing them online and thinking we have things in common and I would love to get to know them. Yes, I find it fun to have friends you can chat to all over the world. It expands your horizons and introduces you to subjects you never considered. I do find it enjoyable, especially last year when I was so poorly and didn’t have anything else I could physically do.

I love to be creative but because of all the illnesses I had last year (on top of my chronic conditions) I wasn’t able to do much with my hands. In fact, even writing (which I love) was not something I could physically do with a pen so I had to transfer my writing skills from paper and pen to iPad and typing. This has a been a journey for me that I wasn’t initially willing to take because I wanted to do what I had always done. But I have managed to overcome that and begin typing my words instead of writing them.

My husband has got me different artistic apps some of which were free and some of which had to be paid for. I tried all of them without success and couldn’t get on with them. This just wasn’t working for me. I couldn’t figure out the packages in the way I wanted to or produce the quality of work that I wished to. However, I did manage to do 2 pastel drawings but it took a lot of effort and energy from me that I really needed for spending time with my family or doing other things.

Anyway, last night my husband was showing me how to do more things online with my writing and up popped an app called Silk. It looked interesting so Kevin kept a record of it so we could see it after he had finished explaining how to do these things. He also had got me an Apple Pencil and I have been using it and adjusting to the way it worked on the ipad.

This Silk app is the VERY FIRST one I have actually been able to use and enjoy. It reminds me of when I used to enjoy doing Spirograph as a child. In fact I think I spent at least an hour making different pictures and thoroughly enjoying myself. I am just so happy to have found something new and fun that I can do.

Have you found anything exciting or enjoyable that you never anticipated finding? What made you enjoy it? How did you adjust to being able to accomplish something you never expected?

2 thoughts on “Something new and fun

  1. Catherine

    I’m one of your Facebook friends but also consider you a true friend who has been my voice of reason for many things. You know things about me that nobody else does, you are the first to hear my good news and the first I turn to in difficult times. Ps my spirograph set travelled the world with me.

    Reply

Leave a comment